## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

May 31, 2024

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg U.S. Secretary U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Ave, SE Washington, DC 20590 The Honorable Michael Whitaker Administrator Federal Aviation Administration 800 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20591

Dear Secretary Buttigieg and Administrator Whitaker,

a Dushe

We write to you regarding Section 1102 of H.R. 3935, the FAA Reauthorization Act of 2024, which was signed into law by President Biden on May 16, 2024. The bill requires the Department of Transportation, in coordination with the Federal Aviation Administration, to convene a working group within 90 days to develop best practices and identify hindrances for transporting donated organs in the cabin of commercial aircrafts.

The working group will support the modernization of federal protocols that reduce the risk of damaging or delaying donor organs traveling through the nation's commercial air system. These modernizations are critical to ensuring the gifts of life entrusted to us by organ donors and their families reach their intended recipients safely and efficiently.

We urge the Department to begin forming the working group as soon as possible in accordance with the provisions outlined in H.R. 3935. Additionally, we encourage transparency and open communication throughout the process to ensure the working group's efforts are in line with the provision's intent.

Thank you for your attention to this important issue. We look forward to witnessing the positive impact this working group will have on organ donors, transplant recipients, and their families.

Sincerely,

Beth Van Duyne

Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II

Member of Congress

Carol D. Miller

Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler

Member of Congress

Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M.
Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

August Pfluger Member of Congress

Don Bacon
Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Joe Wilson

Member of Congress

Troy E. Nehls Member of Congress Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi
Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

Jay Obernolte
Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Melanie Stansbury
Member of Congress

Rich McCormick, MD, MBA Member of Congress Jeff Duncan

Member of Congress

Tracey Mann

Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas

Member of Congress

Greg Stanton

Member of Congress